Lap chole after previous lap - Forum

• Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post
Poland

Lap chole after previous lap - Ärzteforum

Post#1 »

I have been doing lap choles for a the past 3 years, but never did one after previous lap. I need to do one now on a pt. who has a midline scar from xiphi to pubis done for small bowel resection. I need advise about approach to port placement. Where would you place first port. Can it be done closed or must it be done as a open proceedure etc.etc..The concern is not to injure bowel on entering the abdomen.

Jorjo

Re: Lap chole after previous lap - Ärzteforum

Post#2 »

You need to access the abdomen through a very small umbilical incision (Hassan'technique) opened,so as to see the site to enter and place your trocar N=B0 1 under direct vision so as to not damage any viscerae that could be fixed near the area. Then,insufflate slowly watching that expansion of abdomen is equal and regular.Then,when the optic device is introduced you will see a real cavern with adhesions lifted upside and you will know if dissection of such adherences is feasible.If you think they are,you start liberating them but previously you introduce the other 3 trocars under direct vision.If things appear to be rather difficult we would advice you to convert your surgery to open type and carry on with a classical operation.

Lady Surgeon

Post#3 »

Let me offer an alternative viewpoint. In over 800 laparoscopic cases, I have felt the need to use the Hassan technique in only three, and all were in various stages of pregnancy at the time. I have always used the Veress needle exclusively. My bowel injury rate is zero. I have had to convert lap chole's for the usual technical reasons (difficulties, not complications), have had to open two cases because the sheer density of adhesions prevented development of an adequate space, but have not had to open for access.

Tips: