Vomiting following laparoscopic cholecystectomy - Forum

• Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post
Lady Surgeon

Vomiting following laparoscopic cholecystectomy - Ärzteforum

Post#1 »

I have been doing lap chol for last two years now. We use carbondioxide for insufflation at 2-3L/min gas flow and at intraabd pressure of 12 mm. Almost all my patients have several episodes of vomiting in the first 6 hours post. op. In my opinion the CO2 is the reason for it but I don't have the facts.
My questions are:
1. Is it a recognised complication.
2. How do you avoid it.

Resident

Re: Vomiting following laparoscopic cholecystectomy - Ärzteforum

Post#2 »

As a chief resident in genreal surgery, I have seen many approaches to laprascopic cholecystectomy, and among the seven hospitals where I rotate, a wide variation in the incidence of postoperative nausea. And I have come to the conclusion that the anesthetic has much more to do with the incidence of postop nausea than anything the surgeon does.

I recently completed a rotation at a children's hospital, and this hospital had begun performing palrascopic surgery only 20 months prior. The anesthesiologists prefer a gas induction, with palcement of IVs, foleys, and lines under gnereal anesthesia. We had a terrible postop nausea problem after lap chole, causing some patients to stay 3-4 days! I suggested to one anesthesiologist that we try IV induction on our adolescent patients who were undergoing laprascopic surgery, and he chose propofol and versed, with non-depolarizing paralytics. Not an ounce of vomitus has hit the floor since in these patients.

Nausea is more severe in all patients in whom volatile anesthetics are not allowed to diffuse off prior to reawakening; I believe some of the volatile agents end up in the pneumoperitoneum, and are then reabsorbed by the patient, even as they are awakened.

Lady Surgeon

Post#3 »